Mille Miglia

Home/Motorsport/Mille Miglia

The Mille Miglia was an open-road endurance race which took place in Italy twenty-four times from 1927 to 1957.

  • 1952-1955 - Musso in the 1954 Mille Miglia Part of the Maserati in Miniature Series
  • Gigi Villoresi, in a somewhat ravaged Ferrari 340 America, on a rain soaked road heads for victory in the 1951 Mille Miglia.
  • Amongst the 481 starters for the 20th running of the greatest road races there were no fewer than 6 factory teams competing for overall success. Victory eventually went to Giannino Marzotto driving a Ferrari 340 MM, Viganle who completed the 945 miles at an average speed of 89 miles per hour.
  • Piero Taruffi on his way to be what was to be the last Mille Miglia race in 1957. This was his 14th attempt and he was driving a Ferrari 315S